Top of page
Skip to main content
Main content

Graduate Student Prizes

Blair Rogers Major and James Russell Major Dissertation Award

The Blair Rogers Major and James Russell Major Dissertation Award is given annually to the most promising student writing a dissertation in the history of Europe and of European expansion (including the British Isles), from classical antiquity to the present. This fellowship was created by the late Professor Major, a distinguished authority on representative institutions in early modern France, in collaboration with Blair Major, his wife, in grateful recognition of a grant they received when he was completing his dissertation at Princeton University in 1948-49. They were trying to survive with two small children on the G.I. Bill and a teaching assistantship when they unexpectedly received the Elias Boudinot Fellowship, for which they were extremely grateful.

To do the same for others, they established this award to go annually to the most promising student writing a dissertation in the history of Europe and of European expansion (including the British Isles), from classical antiquity to the present. Award preference will be given to qualified doctoral students working in the field of early modern Europe. The 2012 reformulation is designed to honor the intent of Russell and Blair by giving preference to qualified applicants in the early modern field, but also to make more students eligible in the event we do not have an early modern nominee in any particular year. The formula "history of Europe and of European expansion, from classical antiquity to the present," was consciously designed to be as capacious as possible. Depending of course on the dissertation topic, it will now possible to nominate students in fields that were previously not included - notably African, American, Ancient, Asian, Latin American, Medieval, and Modern European history.

Award amounts vary based on the endowment income available.

  • 2023-24: Olivia Cocking, Ursula Rall
  • 2022-23: Georgia Brunner, Anjuli Webster
  • 2021-22: Alexander L. Compton, Alexander Cors
  • 2020-21: No award granted due to COVID-19
  • 2019-20: Madelyn Stone
  • 2018-19: Mary Grace DuPree
  • 2017-18: Julia López Fuentes
  • 2016-17: Cassandra Casias
  • 2015-16: Stefanie Krull
  • 2014-15: Andrew Zonderman
  • 2013-14: Sean Wempe
  • 2012-13: Glen Goodman
  • 2009-10: Elizabeth Bouldin
  • 2008-09: Amanda Madden
  • 2006-07: Carol White
  • 2005-06: Daniel Krebs
  • 2003-05: Douglas Powell
  • 2002-03: Johanna Rickman
  • 2001-02: Brian Kaschak
  • 2000-01: Darryl Dee
  • 1998-99: Jeffrey Houghtby
  • 1997-98: Amy Enright
  • 1996-97: Nancy Locklin
  • 1995-96: David Paradis

The George P. Cuttino Scholarship for Research Outside of the U.S.

Professor George P. Cuttino was a distinguished medieval historian in the Department of History for 32 years. In 1982 he provided a gift to the university to establish a scholarship endowment fund to aid history undergraduate students conducting research in overseas libraries. The George P. Cuttino Scholarship for Independent Study Abroad was established in 1985 and commemorates Professor Cuttino’s commitment to undergraduate teaching in the Department of History. In 1997, Professor Cuttino’s estate opened the Scholarship to graduate student applicants, though the priority remains to support undergraduate research.

The Cuttino Scholarship is offered annually, privileging rising senior history majors or joint majors in Emory College. As long as funds permit, however, graduate students in their first or second years may also apply for up to $5,000 of support for summer research abroad.

In years when a Cuttino Scholarship for graduate students is available, the Director of Graduate Studies will issue a notice and a deadline for submission of Cuttino Scholarship applications. Applicants must submit a proposal -- not more 3 double-spaced pages -- as to how they plan to utilize the scholarship if awarded. The proposal should describe the nature and value of the proposed research topic and include a precise research plan, itinerary, and anticipated budget (airfare, lodging, tuition, etc.). Students also need to ask a faculty member familiar with their work to submit a letter of recommendation.

The Cuttino Scholarship recipients from the two groups of students are selected by the Department of History Undergraduate Committee and Graduate Committee, respectively.

  • 2022-23: Bruna Digiacomo Cerveira Coutinho, Hugo Hansen, Gerardo Manrique de Lara Ruiz, K. Rene Odanga, Hayley C. Roy, Yuan Zeng Ashley Tan, Sonia Wind
  • 2018-19: Arturo Luna Loranca, Kaelyn McAdams, Jiajun Zou
  • 2017-18: Hannah Abrahamson, Alexander Cors, Kelsey Fritz, Marissa Nichols, Madelyn Stone, Shari Wejsa
  • 2016-17: Alexander Cors, Marissa Nichols, Madelyn Stone
  • 2000-01: Walter Roberts
  • 1999-00: Tracey Billado, Cynthia Johnson, Walter Roberts

Ross H. and May B. McLean Prize

The Ross H. and May B. McLean Prize is awarded annually to the first-year student in history who achieved the most distinguished record for the previous year.

  • 2023-24: Gerardo Manrique de Lara Ruiz, K. Rene Odanga
  • 2022-23: Andrew Aldridge
  • 2021-22: Olivia Cocking, Alejandro Guardado
  • 2020-21: Aleo Pugh and Anjuli Webster
  • 2019-20: William Robert Billups
  • 2018-19: Arturo Luna Loranca
  • 2017-18: Alexander Cors, Madelyn Stone
  • 2016-17: Mary Grace Gibbs-DuPree, Timothy Romans
  • 2015-16: Julia López Fuentes
  • 2014-15: Cassandra Casias
  • 2013-14: Andrew Britt
  • 2012-13: Kelly Basner, Carrie Crawford
  • 2011-12: Scott Lisbon
  • 2010-11: Corey Goettsch, Sean Wempe
  • 2009-10: Debjani Bhattacharyya, Aditya Deo

The Francis S. Benjamin Prize

Each fall the program selects a recipient for the Francis S. Benjamin Prize, awarded for the best paper written by a graduate student during their first two years in the Emory History PhD program.  The submitted paper must be written in a graduate course taken in the previous year.  Submissions are made by students, rising second years and rising third years, with one submission per year allowed.  Papers ought to be of a length, quality, and form suitable for publication as an article in a scholarly journal.  Essays submitted for publication but not yet published are eligible.  No restriction is made on the time spent on research and writing.  Papers written for a course and subsequently revised or expanded are acceptable.

  • 2023-24: Hayley C. Roy
  • 2022-23: Olivia Cocking
  • 2021-22: Ursula Rall
  • 2020-21: Anjuli Webster
  • 2019-20: Georgia Brunner
  • 2018-19: Madelyn Stone
  • 2017-18: Alexander Cors
  • 2016-17: Jennifer Morgan
  • 2015-16: Audrey Henderson, Julia López Fuentes
  • 2014-15: Stefanie Krull
  • 2013-14: Andrew Zonderman
  • 2012-13: Kelly Basner
  • 2011-12: Sean Wempe, Collin Reynolds
  • 2010-11: Corey Goettsch, Craig Perry
  • 2009-10: Craig Perry, Rebecca Sherman

The Joseph J. Mathews Prize

The Joseph J. Mathews Prize is a substantial annual award given to a graduate student in any field engaged in dissertation research.

  • 2023-24: Yan Hon Michael Chung, Olivia Cocking, Alejandro Guardado, Ursula Rall, Ayssa Yamaguti Norek
  • 2022-23: Georgia Brunner and Anjuli Webster
  • 2019-20: Alexander Cors and Alexandra Lemos Zagonel
  • 2018-19: Mary Grace DuPree, Julia López Fuentes, Cheng-Heng Lu
  • 2017-18: Audrey Henderson, Anastasiia Strakhova
  • 2016-17: Abigail Meert, María de los Ángeles Pícone
  • 2015-16: Andrew Britt, Jonathan Coulis, Ashley Parcells
  • 2014-15: Christopher Brown, Ashleigh Dean, Colin Reynolds
  • 2013-14: Jessica Reuther
  • 2012-13: Rebecca Sherman, Jennifer Schaefer, Kara Moskowitz
  • 2011-12: Melissa Gayan, Navyug Gill, Jill Rosenthal
  • 2010-11: Husseina Dinani, Rhiannon Evangelista, Rachel Lambrecht, Leonardo Marques, Elizabeth Stice
  • 2009-10: Cari Williams, Adam Rosenbaum, Mauro Pasqualini, Francis Musoni, Molly McCuller