Option A. Chair's Fund for Excellence

  • Woodruff Professor David Eltis is the co-editor of the path breaking Transatlantic Slave Trade database at www.slavevoyages.org

  • Professor Judith Evans-Grubbs, B.A. Emory College 1978, has returned to the university as the inaugural Betty Gage Holland Professor of Roman History.

  • Prof. William Beik received a 2009-2010 Mellon Emeritus Fellowship for his next book project, "The Inner Workings of French Absolutism: Louis XIV in the 1690s." During his research, he visited the Ch√Ęteau at Aubigny in February 2010.

  • Dr. Walter Adamson upon winning a Guggenheim Fellowship for 2011-2012.

  • Prof. Brian Vick on the track of the cultural history of the Vienna Congress (Greifswald, 2010). His research has been funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), the British Academy and Emory's University Research Committee.

  • The Department's Phi Alpha Theta 2011 graduates with Prof. Robert Desrochers, faculty advisor (center, top), at the Senior Party (left to right): Sarah Conner, Patrick Jamieson, Anne Patton, Caitlin Haynes, Michael Small and John Gibson

  • Prof. Judith A. Miller is spending 2011-2012 in Paris and then at the Newberry Library in Chicago with the Audrey Lumsden-Kouvel Fellowship for her book project, "The Stoic Voice of the Late French Revolution, 1794-1815."

  • A Cuttino Summer Fellowship and a Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship allowed Christina Welsch, B.A. 2010, to do research in London and New Delhi.

  • Patrick Jamieson, with Prof. Leslie Harris after graduating in May 2011, is currently pursuing a J.D. at Duke Law School and an M.A. in History from the graduate school at Duke.

  • Professor Joseph Crespino won three prizes for his book, In Search of Another Country (2009).

  • Professor Mark Ravina has received a fellowship from Fulbright Foundation and support from the International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken) to work on his next book, Japan's Nineteenth Century Revolution: A Transnational History of the Meiji Restoration.

  • How Taiwan Became Chinese (2007) by Professor Tonio Andrade has been translated into Chinese.

  • Professor Leslie Harris' book, In the Shadow of Slavery (2003), won the Wesley-Logan Prize by the American Historical Association and the Association for the Study of African American Life and History.

  • Sharon Strocchia received the 2010 Marraro Prize from the American Catholic Historical Association for her book, Nuns and Nunneries in Renaissance Florence (2009).

This fund provides unrestricted resources to help the department make strategic investments in high-priority areas when new challenges and opportunities arise.

Online Contributions: Giving to Emory online is safe and convenient. To make your gift online, visit the University’s secure giving page.

Select “Other Designation” and then write in:
“History Department, Option A”

Follow the instructions for entering the amount and your credit card information. Emory University uses a third-party vendor to secure online credit card gifts. (The security certificate is registered with that vendor, so please note that the security warning that appears on the site simply reflects the two names on the certificate.)

Contributions also may be mailed to:

Office of Gift Records
Emory University
1762 Clifton Road, Suite 1400
MS: 0970-001-8AA
Atlanta, GA 30322

Checks should be made payable to Emory University with “History Department Fund” and “Option A” on the memoline.

Thank you for your contribution to the Department of History!